Continuing Preparation with Patience, and Pursuing God’s Will

I want to thank you all for your continued prayers for our family. It is a tremendous encouragement knowing that so many people are praying for us as we continue to prepare for the chaplaincy. Though I am anxious to serve in the role of a chaplain now, I know God desires to continue preparing me for the role; as there are still many milestones I must accomplish before I am able to officially be a chaplain in the United States Navy. Your prayers and words of encouragement help tremendously and I thank you for them!

Our family is doing well. We had the opportunity to spend a few days on a mini-vacation in Atlanta, Georgia during fall break. They kids enjoyed the hotel stay, as well as a visit to the Georgia Aquarium and the World of Coca-Cola. It was much needed family time. Though the kids were out of school, I still had class! Regarding school, seminary mid-terms are completed, and I look forward to finishing this semester strong. Lord willing, I should obtain my Master of Divinity in the spring of 2017. This is my first milestone. I do not know what policy changes will be implemented in my last two years of seminary, but I pray that they will not have a negative impact. Though, if it prolongs my ability to be a Navy Chaplain, I believe God will be using that to further prepare me for this unique ministry. I believe this, because I know God is Sovereign over all.

Lastly, I want to mention how excited I am in the ministry God is using me in now. Our youth and teen programs have been extremely encouraging. We recently had our Awards Night for our youth program. The children and teens ministered in music through specials and the church was able to hear the youth recite Scripture from memory. It is exciting seeing these children grow in their knowledge of God’s Word!

Leave a Reply

