Preparing for Transitions and New Ministry Opportunities

collage2

Pictured above are the graduations we had in the month of May. The first picture is of myself and my father during my seminary graduation. The second photo is our family at Korben’s Graduation. I graduated on May 5th, 2017. I am so thankful that I have completed seminary. Shortly after my graduation, Korben graduated from high school on May 18th, 2017. I am extremely proud of him and excited to see him choose Maranatha Baptist University for his college education. Now that seminary is complete, I am working on completing my last requirement in pursuit of Navy Chaplaincy; which is a twelve month residency for Clinical Pastoral Education (CPE).

 Although the waiver I requested for the CPE was not granted, I was accepted into a residency in Clearwater, Florida.  We have placed our house on the market and are praying that it will sell soon. This will allow us to begin our transition to Florida. Our church has prepared for this transition by hiring a young married man that has recently graduated from West Coast Baptist Bible College to fulfill my current position as Youth Pastor.

 Our family suffered a tremendous loss with the passing of my mother, Sue Spurlock. She died in the early morning of April 26, 2017. I was present when she died, along with my brother and father. Though that was difficult to experience, I am glad I was there. I was able to talk with her and tell her how much I love her. I am thankful that when I became a Christian, I made it a priority to ask my parents about their salvation testimony. I thank God for His grace and the comfort He provides through the gift of salvation. Based on what my mother told me years ago, I know she received the gift of eternal life from our Lord Jesus Christ, and that I will see her again someday.

 Our family is excited for the AMCT in August at Calvary Baptist Church in New Philadelphia, Ohio. We are preparing spiritually for the upcoming week and are confident God will continue to bless our family through this amazing ministry. We are so thankful for your prayers and support.

Leave a Reply

